In The Constant Pursuit of Purpose

Samantha Godoy
2 min readApr 24, 2024

--

How does one really know their purpose in life?

In my 20-something years of existence, I really thought by the time you get to a certain age, you will have everything figured out — your purpose, your goals, the whole shebang. Like the universe will give you the key to your designated locker, containing your life’s mission for your 20th birthday. Why did no one ever tell me I was too delusional to even think about this?

I used to envy people who seem to have cracked the code of what their supposed to be doing in life. I saw someone my age who opened a clothing business during the pandemic, and is now earning 6 digits every month. There’s this woman I follow on Instagram who opened a foundation for stray animals, she is now happily living life saving our furry friends from affliction. She said in a post that she knew this was her mission and purpose in life. The keyword there is “knew”. How did she know? How was she so certain? Her figuring out her life’s mission still leaves me in awe.

I could spend days on end writing all the things I want to be in life yet I am still walking on a trail of question marks as to what I’m meant to do. Call me an aspiring Jack of all Trades, if you may. Was I born to write the stories of the world? Was I meant to open a business or climb the corporate ladder? The answer still gnaws me at night.

How can you be so sure that the things you love to do will lead you to your purpose? My boss told me that she was once reluctant working in the government; she is now on her 8th year in office — continuously thriving and contributing significantly to our city. Talk about dichotomy.

Suddenly, it dawned on me that maybe the things you want in life does not necessarily equate to what you’re meant to do in life. There’s a slight chance your passion isn’t your purpose. Ouch, right?

But what if? What if in the grand scheme of things, your purpose will open a new door of passion for you? You’ll never know unless you take a leap of faith and explore.

Seek the thrill. Discover the unknown. Dive into the abyss.

The constant pursuit of purpose in life is an adventure we’re ought to take to unravel the hidden treasures of yourself and of the world.

--

--

Samantha Godoy

A Communication student with gusto and purpose. Voyager of life. Amplifier of voices within and around.